Books and Writing · Community · Education · Growth · Health and Wellness · Home and Family · Life Lately · local · Movies and TV

Life Lately

Reading: I just finished reading The Dolls House by M.J. Aldridge for book club. It’s a murder mystery along the lines of Law and Order: SVU so it was a quick read for me. It’s part of a series and I haven’t read the first two, but just like the various crime and detective shows I love to watch, the main story stands alone with underlying stories carrying from book to book.

I just started The Clasp by Sloane Crosley. I have an extensive “to-read” list on Goodreads and probably another one on paper somewhere and this book wasn’t on it but I was in the library to pick up a book I’d put on hold for Alex (Monsters Eat Whiny Children) and started browsing…

file_000-3

and well, if you’re a book person then you know how that goes!

Watching: Okay so I have two sets of shows that I like to keep up with weekly: NCIS and Chicago. That doesn’t sound so bad, but they actual total 6 shows: NCIS LA, NCIS, NCIS New Orleans, Chicago Fire, Chicago P.D., Chicago Med (soon to be 7 – Chicago Justice).  

Honestly I watch way more TV as an adult than I ever did as a kid. Something about being home doing domestic things gets really boring to me and the only way I can keep going is by watching TV on my phone, listening to podcasts, or talking on the phone. So, other shows I’ve been watching lately are: American Housewife, My Name is Earl, and This is Us.

Yea, my “watched” list is way longer than my “read” list for the past few years. :/

Thinking and pondering about: How to navigate politics off and online , ways to manage my time and energy differently, and how to kick-start losing weight (and keeping it off).

Planning for: A Girl Scout cookie booth this weekend! 

file_000-4

It’s now my second cookie season as a leader and I definitely feel like I have a better idea about what I’m doing. It’s still a little hectic though!

Other things:

Learning:

I’ve been wanting to fill my mind with something other than social media feeds, news/opinion articles, and Netflix so I signed up for some free classes on Coursera and Edx. I get so carried away every time I’m on those sites. I made a list of about 50 classes I wanted to enroll in! If you like learning and haven’t checked out either of these sites, do yourself a favor and head over there now! These are the things I signed up for:

Coursera:

  • De-mystifying Mindfulness by Universiteit Leiden
  • How to Change The World by Wesleyn University
  • The Bible’s Prehistory, Purpose, and Political Future by Emory University

Edx:

  • European Paintings: From Leonardo to Rembrandt to Goya, from Universidad Carlos III de Madrid 
  • Human Rights: The Rights of Refugees by Amnesty International
  • Introduction to Algebra – a SchoolYourself course (This is so I can brush up since Natalie is going to be in middle school next year and she feels about the same way I do about math. I’m hoping to get my bearings and encourage her to push forward and not get discouraged just because it doesn’t come as easily to her as the other subjects).

I’ve also been slowly looking through and thinking about Grad Certificates and Grad school. I have a bad habit of not quite even finishing these free courses, so I’ve told myself if I can actually follow through and make the time for them then I will look more seriously into officially (aka paying for) furthering my education.

 

 

Being outside:

A huge new park just opened up near our house and it’s gorgeous out there. Open natural space, trails, ponds, playground – it’s been a long time coming for our community.

file_000-5

 

I’m really looking forward to spending time there! If you’re local and you haven’t been yet, you definitely need to check it out!

Leave a Reply

