Growth · Health and Wellness · Home and Family · Mental health · Perspective · Relationships · Uncategorized

This Year, More

In the South we don’t often get a blanket of white covering our world on New Year’s day, making everything look new and glittery, but that doesn’t stop us from dreaming about the year ahead (and the possibility of a good snow day or two).

jan2011003

In years past, I’ve made resolutions, set goals, made bucket lists, and chosen a “word of the year” and all of those things have served their purposes. This year, I’m thinking more along some slightly different lines.

Over the past few months, I have been noticing some bad habits/thought patterns/ways of being that I’ve allowed into my life that I’d like to change or shift. I’ve thought about things I’ve done in the past that have worked for me to make changes. I’ve thought about why. Why am I doing the things I’m doing? What do I really want? What am I reaching for and why am I sometimes grabbing hold of these things I don’t really want instead of stretching a little farther towards that thing that I really do want? Why do some avenues of change work for me and why do some fall flat? I believe you have to know yourself and be honest with yourself about yourself if you are going to make any lasting changes in your life. I think you have to dream big and be pragmatic at the same time. I believe the act of working to become a healthier person is something that makes ripples across the lives of those around you too, especially those closest to you. Nothing we do is in a vacuum – only for ourselves. We are so interconnected. For me, it’s important to remember this. This is accountability. My poor habits don’t just affect me. My efforts to be healthier don’t just benefit me.

This year, I’m thinking about what I want more of in my life. Yesterday, I just started jotting things down as they came to mind. For me, it is better to think of adding good things in than it is to focus on what to cut out or decrease. As good things are added into a life, other things will have to fall away – there won’t be room for it all. I think this is a more organic way to shift a lifestyle. All the bad habits and vices might not be completely eliminated, but whatever manages to stay somehow has adapted (and possibly shrunk) to fit. Maybe as time goes on and more and more things are added, those last few stronghold not so great habits or vices will slowly meet an extinction, having outlived their usefulness or ability to adapt. It’s just a theory I’m testing out.

It’s not a checklist to complete or a goal to reach. I want to turn my eyes and my focus more to these things and less to other things. This is what I’m seeking, craving, curating, creating, accepting, receiving, and embracing this year – more of the things that make me light up, that help me take care, that give life, that  –

More:

  • Poetry reading, writing, listening, and watching
  • Healthy foods
  • Singing
  • Music
  • Exercise
  • Stretching
  • Cleaning out
  • Planning
  • Book Club
  • Trips
  • Friends
  • Fun family time
  • Mindfulness
  • Outings
  • Cultural Experiences
  • Books
  • Writing
  • Blogging
  • Journaling
  • Lists
  • Gifts shared
  • Meal planning
  • Saving
  • Research
  • Frugal things
  • Abundant living
  • Resources tapped into
  • “Crunchy” things
  • Investing – time, money, energy, and resources into self, home, family, marriage, children, relationships, spiritual health, physical health, mental health, the future
  • Routine Maintenance – health, home, car, pet, financial – without stressing
  • Meditation
  • Activism
  • Lingerie
  • Date nights
  • Prayer
  • Organization
  • Routines
  • Time at Church
  • Dreaming
  • Random acts of kindness
  • Spiritual practices
  • Nature
  • Walks
  • Letters and cards
  • Long phone calls
  • Coffee dates
  • New foods and recipes
  • Pouring out
  • Receiving
  • Peace
  • Joy
  • Love
  • Kindness
  • Gentleness
  • Faithfulness
  • Goodness
  • Self Control
  • Live Music
  • Laughter
  • Fun
  • Learning

Leave a Reply

