Faith and Religion · Perspective

Say Geronimo

Lent Reflection:

The thing about Lent is that it’s so long. That’s one reason giving up something that you want to be rid of forever during that time can be so helpful. 40 days is a good jump start on kicking something to the curb. During that time, the space you once held for that thing you don’t really want starts to shrink and the power it had starts to fade. Other things start to take the place of that thing that’s being given up. Hopefully the other things are good things. It doesn’t always work that way. Sometimes we switch one vice for another, despite our best efforts.

The hope though is that the go-to becomes prayer, God, love, light, goodness, Christ, hope, grace.

It’s a little abstract though, making those things our go-to.

I think that’s why finding the holy in the ordinary is so important. I think that’s why letting faith out of the box is so crucial.

I’ve found myself on a spectrum this Lent. On each end, an extreme. Neither of the extremes are fully me on their own. I am parts of the whole spectrum and there is a sweet spot somewhere along the way. I have to sit with myself, with God, with my weird and uncomfortable thoughts and feelings and extremes to get to the sweet spot.

What does this have to do with giving up worry? Well, worry takes up a lot of room, worry busies me so that I don’t sit with all those things and worry keeps me from that sweet spot. Worry keeps me in turmoil and keeps me from being the fullest version of the person I was created to be. Worry is the enemy’s tool in my life and every time I turn to faith instead of worry, I deny the enemy power over that moment. I’m retraining myself. The temptation to worry will always be there, regardless of my circumstances. The opportunity to believe will always be there too. There is always a leap of faith to take, all the days, all the moments, all the seasons have them.

giving up worry

When I don’t worry, sometimes I just sit in the mess. Sometimes I feel very small, the world feels very dark and my choosing not to worry doesn’t feel strong, it just feels stubborn, desperate, needy. When I don’t worry, sometimes I feel the freedom, the rush of promise – I feel sure. Lots of times, I feel somewhere in between.

I was asked to post a favorite verse on Instagram a couple of weeks ago.

deep calls to deep

Psalm 42:7

I love the poetry of this. I love the water, I love the deep. I love the Lord crashing over me. When I don’t worry, I notice the Lord crashing over me, around me. I notice the holy water, the holy spirit dripping over everything. I notice the poetry of it. It’s a sweet spot.

Resources:

I’ve used the She Reads Truth devotion less over the past couple of weeks, but still use it a few times a week

I’ve used the Spotify hymns playlist a few times a week

Pen and paper journal

I’ve been reading Searching for Sunday (Advanced Reader’s Copy) by Rachel Held Evans, and while this is not a resource anyone else can use right now, it is helping me find my sweet spot again. I’ll share more about that later.

And this song:

Can you feel it?
Now it’s coming back we can steal it
If we bridge this gap,
I can see you
Through the curtains of the waterfall

When I lost it,
Yeah you held my hand,
But I tossed it,
Didn’t understand,
You were waiting,
As I dove into the waterfall

So say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!

Can you feel my love?
Bombs away,
Bombs away,
Bombs away
Can you feel (my love, my love, my love, my love, my love) my love?
Bombs away,
Bombs away,
Bombs away,
Say Geronimo!

Well we rushed it,
Moving away too fast
That we crushed it,
But it’s in the past
We can make this leap,
Through the curtains of the waterfall

So say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!

Can you feel (my love, my love, my love, my love, my love) my love?
Bombs away,
Bombs away,
Bombs away,
Can you feel (my love, my love, my love, my love, my love) my love?
Bombs away,
Bombs away,
Bombs away

Well I’m just a boy,
With a broken toy,
All lost and coy,
(At the curtains of the waterfall)
So it’s here I stand,
As a broken man,
But I’ve found my friend,
At the curtains of the waterfall

Now I’m falling down,
Through the crashing sound
And you’ve come around,
At the curtains of the waterfall

And you rushed to me,
And it sets us free
So I fall to my knees,
(At the curtains of the waterfall)

So say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!

Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!
Say Geronimo!

Bombs away,
Bombs away,
Bombs away (Say Geronimo!)

Say Geronimo!

Make this leap
Make this leap
Make this leap
Make this leap
Can you feel my love?

Leave a Reply

